This blog is about Hawaii's status as an independent country under prolonged illegal occupation by the United States, and the history, culture, law & politics of the islands.

By Scott Crawford, Hana, Maui

Archive

Old Archives (Aug03-Oct09)

Blogs.com Top 10
Hawaii Blogs

Hawaiian History Month

La Ho’iho’i Ea in Kipahulu

Lā Ho’iho’i Ea in Wai’anae

Team Hawaiian Kingdom? Activists want some U.S. Olympians to surf for a different homeland

After decades of whitewashing, sovereignty activists say, the effort is part of an attempt to reclaim the sport’s cultural and spiritual importance in its place of birth.

As surfing made its Olympic debut at the Tokyo Games on Sunday, Native Hawaiians are hoping the global spotlight on the contest will bring attention to what […]

Hawaiian Kingdom & Aloha ‘Aina contemporary land struggles

JOIN US this Monday, July 26th @ 4pm Hawaii Time/8pm MT/10pm ET for LANDBACK U’s Session 2 on the Hawaiian Kingdom & Aloha ‘Āina – Contemporary Land Struggles 🌺

You can register here: https://ndnco.cc/LBU2register2

This conversation will focus on contemporary land struggles in the Hawaiian Kingdom. It will be facilitated by Kaho’okahi Kanuha & […]

Lā Ho’iho’i Ea – Waianae

Lā Ho’iho’i Ea – Ka’anapali

Aloha ‘Oe Haunani-Kay Trask

October 3, 1949 – July 3, 2021

La Ho’iho’i Ea at Mauna Kea

Lā Ho’iho’i Ea at ‘Iolani Palace