

from Kekoa Lake National Election Commissioner Lawful Hawaiian Government

October 18, 2015

## FINAL RESULTS OF ALL CONTESTS OF THE 2015 NATIONAL ELECTION

On September 12, 2015, eligible voters in the twenty-four districts of Hawai'i cast ballots in the country's fifth governmental election since 1999.

Henry Noa ran unopposed, winning the office of Prime Minister.

Candidates for Representative in the three voting districts on the island of Kaua'i ran unopposed. Healani Waiwaiole (Kaua'i Dist.1), Leland "Radar" Yadao (Kaua'i Dist. 2) and Nelson Armitage, Junior (Kaua'i Dist. 3) will serve a four-year term in January.

Of the eight positions for Representative open on O'ahu, three persons ran and won: Waikoloa Noa in district one (East Honolulu), Demont Conner in district five (Waianae) and Leo Cardia Enos in district seven (Ko'olauloa).

Joining them in the House of Representatives from the island of Hawai'i are Andrew Brewer (Hawai'i Dist. 1), Gwen Kuilipule-Ishibashi (Hawai'i Dist.2), Keahiokealohanui Tajon (Hawai'i Dist. 3), Vernon Kaniho (Hawai'i Dist. 5), Wayne Mahi (Hawai'i Dist. 6), and Eli Whitney (Hawai'i Dist. 7). The last two candidates won their contests in Kona and Ka'u with Wayne Mahi earning 66% of the vote over Jason Santana, Junior (17%) and Hank Fergestrom (17%). Eli Whitney defeated Carol Burgher by winning 85% of the vote.

Four of the five Maui Districts had candidates that ran unopposed and won: Edward Paiea Chang (Maui Dist. 1), Sam Ku'ailani, Jr (Maui Dist. 2), Kilinahe Noa (Maui Dist. 3), and Russell Kahookele (Maui Dist. 5). There were no names submitted for representative of District 4, encouraging write-in candidates. This lead to a tie between Victor Kosatchkow and Charles Maalea, each receiving 34% of the votes. Both men must talk to the Maui Caucus to determine commitment and resolve the tie.

Another tie presented itself on Maui in the contest for five at-large noble seats. Incumbents Wayne Armitage (29%), Kaohulani Pua'a (28%) and Keith Hana Malaqui (26%) won outright, leaving two positions open for write-in candidates. Twentyfour persons were nominated. Joseph Sol Malaikini garnered 6% of the votes, earning the fourth spot. The fifth is a virtual tie between Oliver Cummings, Keoni Choy and Calvin Park, each receiving 2%. As with the district four nominees, these men must meet with the current Maui Caucus in order to proceed.

Within the other races for the House of Nobles, a contest of four candidates seeking three at-large offices on Kaua'i resulted in victories for Eugene Kekane Pa (35% of the vote), Stewart Kopa Akana (28%) and Keohokui Kauihana (25%). Incumbent Noble Timmy Oga only garnered 12% of the vote. As for the seven at-large Noble offices on the island of Hawai'i, the highest vote-getters were: Sam Keli'iho'omalu (17%), John Kalua'u (16%), Dwayne Kuilipule (14%), Jansen Kuilipule (14%), Jonas Ikaika Solliday (12%), Preston-Alan Kuilipule (12%) and Kawika Chong (5%).

Four candidates on the ballot for the eight noble offices of O'ahu won outright: Alex Luka (26%), Mahealani Enos (26%), Keolani Noa (26%) and Sylva Rivera (22%). Write-in candidates Walt Enos and Dawn Kinason received one vote each and, if willing, will be sworn in at the next convention.

The newly-elected officials will take their oaths of office at the next convening of the Mana Kau Kanawai in January 2016.

The national election commissioner would like to acknowledge the tireless efforts of Interior Minister Naliko Markel, the island election commissioners and the personnel of the numerous election precincts. The nation's government exists only through their persistence and enthusiasm.